Finding Purpose in Life

I hold fairly regular meetings with my staff at work to review, to brainstorm, to asses, and to listen. Yesterday, I lead a typical work meeting and presented my staff with this question; “Ask yourself, ‘What is the purpose of this program?'”.  I have also presented the question of purpose during my yoga class that I teach every week. The people in my class do the work, they come regularly, they perspire…but do they have a PURPOSE? Purpose allows for direction; we all need direction.

According to the World English Dictionary, purpose is defined as the reason for which anything is done, created or exists.

What is reason you ask?

According to Dictionary.com, reason is a basis or cause, as for some belief, action, fact, event, etc.: the reason for declaring war.

Anyway, my staff meeting ended, but the question I presented to my staff  lingered in my mind. I realized the program I had referenced had never been given a tangible purpose. This program had been put in place over a decade ago by someone within the organization I work for. Sure, there is a description of how the program works, but no real purpose. It occurred to me that it created a level of ambiguity for my staff, and those taking the program. How can I accurately asses my staff, as well as direct them, without a purpose? Sure they work hard (most of them), but who wants to be working towards something that has no known purpose? One becomes a hamster in a wheel without direction just going and going and going…

Thomas Edison said~

Being busy does not always mean real work. The object of all  work is production or accomplishment and to either of these ends there must be  forethought, system, planning, intelligence, and honest purpose, as well as  perspiration. Seeming to do is not doing.

But maybe it’s more than that. Even mankind needs to understand its purpose. Why are we here? Which is why, I am sure, mankind needs religion. Many of us need to know our purpose for being here, to have that understanding to help us reach that end result. Not all of us though. There are those people who are just fine going with the flow, and that is just fine.

There are two great days in a person’s life – The day we are born and the day we discover why. ~ William Barclay

A fellow blogger commented on one of my recent posts saying that he and his wife go through “a dance of acceptance and compassion”. I thought about that and pondered the purpose of dancing.

Wayne Dyer touches on that~

When you dance, your purpose is not to get to a certain place  on the floor. It’s to enjoy each step along the way.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to discover your purpose (whether it is your overall purpose of being here, your job, or your relationships) and enjoy each step along the way.

Leave a Reply

